”Malaika” by Miriam Makeba & Harry Belafonte

Lovely song, classic of african pop culture…

Title: Malaika (Angel)
Artist: Miriam Makeba & Harry Belafonte
Album: An Evening With Harry Belafonte And Miriam Makeba
Year: 1966

Malaika, nakupenda, Malaika (Angel, I love you angel)
Malaika, nakupenda, Malaika
Ningekuoa (I would marry you)
Ningekuoa tata

Nashindwa na mali sina, we (I am defeated by the bride price that I don’t have)
Ningekuoa Malaika (I would marry you, angel)
Nashindwa na mali sina, we
Ningekuoa Malaika

Pesa zasumbua roho yangu (The money problem depresses my soul)
Pesa zasumbua roho yangu
Nami nifanyeje, kijana mwenzio (and I, what should I do, your young friend)

An Evening With Harry Belafonte And Miriam Makeba

Nashindwa na mali sina, we
Ningekuoa Malaika
Nashindwa na mali sina, we
Ningekuoa Malaika

Kidege, hukuwaza, kidege (Little bird, I think of you, little bird)
Kidege, hukuwaza, kidege
Nami nifanyeje, kijana mwenzio (And I, what should I do, your young friend)

Nashindwa na mali sina, we
Ningekuoa Malaika
Nashindwa na mali sina, we
Ningekuoa Malaika

Leave a Reply

